Congratulations to the 2017 David P. Smay scholarship winners!

Morgan Arnett 
The Woodlands, TX 
Baylor University

Ashwin Bhumbla
San Ramon, CA
University of Southern California

Brittany Byers
Spring, TX
University of Texas San Antonio

Hope Fardanesh
Templeton, CA
California Polytechnic State University

Jeremy Goldhawk
Pleasanton, CA
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Kyler Kunzler
Albuqerque, NM
Texas Tech University

James Nantz
Houston, TX
Texas A&M

Christian Schmelzel
Wheat Ridge, CO
Colorado School of Mines

Ryanne Smith
Moss Point, MS
Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College

Sara Venkataraman
Sugar Land, TX
University of Texas at Austin

Jina Zhou
Sugar Land, TX
University of Texas at Austin

Each Spring, the Credit Union awards David P. Smay Scholarships in the amount of $1,000 to each winning submission.


To apply, you must be:

  • A CFCU member with all accounts in good standing.
  • A graduating high school senior, 19 years of age or younger.


  • A thoughtful essay with a title (double-spaced, two pages maximum, eleven point font minimum) on a topic to be announced in March.
  • Your transcript(s) reflecting all four years of high school, including any Honors or AP courses, as well as your cumulative, un-weighted GPA on a 4.0 scale.
  • A list of your extracurricular and community activities and work history.

Submission Instructions

  • Scholarship submissions must include a cover sheet with your name, CFCU member number, home address, phone number, email address, name of the post-secondary school you plan to attend, and your college student ID number (if available).

  • Submissions can be dropped off at any branch, mailed to Scholarships, P.O. Box 2069, Oakland, CA 94604-2069, or emailed to [email protected]

  • Submissions will be graded on a point system with the opportunity for bonus points via social media.

  • The submission deadline is normally May 1. Winners are normally announced no later than May 31.

Please email us at [email protected] or call us at 510-627-5000 or toll-free 800-232-8101 if you have any questions.